2018 Grant Recipients


MEDIA CONTACT: Vicky Sama at jamcycling@gmail.com


JAM Fund is happy to announce the recipients of this year's JAM Fund Grant! Thirty-five enthusiastic cyclists will receive money, equipment or both to help support their cyclocross race season. Grants are awarded to cyclists from the age of 10 to 25 years old who show passion for the sport and a dedication to being an all-around good person. This year, the JAM Fund pulled all the stops to award 35 grants, five more than last year and more than double from the year before. Recipients will formally receive their award at the JAM Fund's Ninth Annual Grand Fundo on July 14 at the Glendale Ridge Vineyard in Southampton, Massachusetts. The Grand Fundo is the non-profit organization's challenging one-day bike ride through the scenic Pioneer Valley followed by a post-ride feast. Money raised at the Grand Fundo goes directly to supporting the JAM Fund team and getting the kids to races.

The following are this year's grant award recipients:

John Paul Amalong of Chapel Hill, North Carolina; Katie Aman of Hanover, New Hampshire; Neal Bachmann of Westfield, Massachusetts; Jessica Beck of Greenfield, Massachusetts; Liza Bell and Sadie Bell of Putney, Vermont; Evan Gunn Bulock of Mendon, Massachusetts; Erik Carlson of East Greenwich, Rhode Island; Patrick Collins of Shrewsbury, Massachusetts; Ari Daube-Valois of Florence, Massachusetts; Luke Enright of Southampton, Massachusetts; Mira Fowler of Northampton, Massachusetts; Elijah Spence Hammarlund of Florence, Massachusetts; Jaymz Lipinski of Kingston, Massachusetts; Jacob LeBlanc of Ludlow, Massachusetts; Aiden Mapel of Southwick, Massachusetts; Luke Mello of Seekonk, Massachusetts; David Northcott of Walpole, New Hampshire; Finnegan O'Connor of Hatfield, Massachusetts; Sophie Anne Parrott of Chesterfield, Massachusetts; Anna Savage of Westborough, Massachusetts; Magnus Sheffield of Pittsford, New York; Rohin Singh of Florence, Massachusetts; Aliza Tobias of Killington, Vermont; Jaden Wise of Belchertown, Massachusetts; Travis Wold of Berlin, Massachusetts and Owen Wright of Amherst, Massachusetts.

In addition to the above, this year's eight JAM Fund Team riders Trent Blackburn, Ian Gielar, Mark Hewitt, Chris Niesen, Chris Norvold, Natalie Tapias, Kale Wenczel and Daniel Vaughn also receive grants.

The purpose of the JAM Fund Grant is to help young riders overcome the financial barriers associated with cycling while also mentoring them to be good members of society. Grant recipients were selected after a review of applications that were due in early June. JAM Fund is a 501c3 non-profit organization, created in 2003 by Jeremy Powers, Alec Donahue and Mukunda Feldman. The team's activities are made possible through corporate sponsorships and individual donations. Each year, the organization issues grants including financial and technical resources and professional training to aspiring cyclists who show enthusiasm and determination to do their best. To find out more about the grant program and JAM Fund, visit jamcycling.org.

Join us at the Grand Fundo! Even if you don't want to ride, come out for the barbecue and celebrate these awesome kids!

Header photo shows the 2017 grant recipients by Meg McMahon.